On Creativity

This is the first blog post I have written since graduating from college. It recently hit me that I’ve stopped writing. A couple of month ago, an hiatus from writing every single day seemed unthinkable. Between a number of papers, this blog, and brief homework assignments, I was constantly creating.

At first, I was astonished by my lack of interest in writing, but I soon realized that graduation and the “real world” did not stifle my creative impulse. Rather, it has merely pushed it in two directions: coding and songwriting.

Songwriting
I have been writing music for nine(!) years now, and playing the piano for fourteen. Having just booked a show, I am officially a professional musician, and certainly no longer an amateur. But while college opened my mind to many new ideas and possibilities, it stifled my writing ability. I often have major songwriting bursts once every six months or so. In high school, I regularly wrote music, but in college I only had one memorable burst of songwriting, and that happened over winter break in 2013, after I returned home from abroad. I wrote about six songs in that month, enough for an EP. I have written four songs in the two months since graduation. What is it about the academy that crushed my creativity? Is it sterility, or the constant workload? I do not know, but I am glad to be free of it.

Code
I have also been working hard on learning to code. I began the summer with HTML and CSS, and have moved on to some JavaScript and Ruby on Rails. In my opinion, this is an entirely different but equally valid mode of composition as both critical writing and songwriting. While I am still certainly a beginner, I love the possibilities inherent in coding. More to come on that front.

If you’re interested, you can check out the personal website I built at www.maecapozzi.com.

Leave a Reply

